San Cisco – Gracetown

Notice: Undefined variable: post_id in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/audio-player/audio-player.php on line 403

Notice: Undefined variable: skin in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 405

Notice: Undefined variable: type_attribute in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 410

Notice: Undefined variable: width_attribute in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 410

Notice: Undefined variable: height_attribute in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 410

Notice: Undefined variable: poster_attribute in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 410

Notice: Undefined variable: autoplay_attribute in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 410

Notice: Undefined variable: mp4_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 411

Notice: Undefined variable: mp3_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 412

Notice: Undefined variable: webm_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 413

Notice: Undefined variable: flv_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 414

Notice: Undefined variable: wmv_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 415

Notice: Undefined variable: ogg_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 416

Notice: Undefined variable: captions_source in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 417

Notice: Undefined variable: loop_option in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 423

Notice: Undefined variable: mediahtml in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/mediaelement-js-wp.php on line 425



Australian indie pop group San Cisco are back with their sophomore album Gracetown. The project has been in the works since the release of their self-titled debut album. San Cisco have been known for their bright, poppy sound and fun lyrics, but the single for this album “Run” showed that they would be trying a new direction. Or apparently a few; The new album released the 17th of March in North America feels like an entirely experimental mixed tape. Each song has a unique sound, seemingly inspired by numerous other artists. It shows the range that the group is capable of and really shows off their musical ability.

This collection of tracks shows a lot of maturity compared to their last album, and is an extraordinary growth for the band. The group really pulled out the stops and tried a ton of new concepts, putting their own personality into it, and it truly pays off. Jordi does majority of vocals on the album, but lovely drummer Scarlett Stevens gets the third track “Magic” all to herself, and Isabella Manfredi of The Preatures is featured in the track “Jealousy.”

The album contains slower, darker sounds similar to Portugal. The Man, and Glass Animals. There is also experimentation with heavier electronics in combination with back and forth lyrics in “Super Slow.” There are even hints of Daft Punk in the electronic minimalist sounds of “Just For A Minute.” That being said, there are still strong moments that remind us of the old fashioned San Cisco, but honestly, their experimental music is much more entertaining. This album confirms their keen writing and playing abilities, and leaves me wondering what their next album will sound like.

Enjoy The Music, David

San Cisco – Gracetown

1.         Run
2.         Too much together time
3.         Magic
4.         Snow
5.         Wash it all away
6.         Bitter winter
7.         Jealousy
8.         Super slow
9.         Mistakes
10.        About you
11.        Skool
12.        Just for a minute

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

1 thought on “San Cisco – Gracetown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *