Seconds of Pleasure



To close out the 2015 I’ve pulled out super group Rockpiles’ one and only studio album release, Seconds of Pleasure. Led by co-leaders Nick Lowe and Dave Edmunds, it is a rock em sock em platter filled with tasty 2 and 3 minute party hors d’oeuvres guaranteed to delight your pallet and keep you hoppin’ as you ring-in the new year!

There are 12 tracks here, six each by Lowe and Edmunds, which showcase the group’s charm and reputation as a feel-good, high energy rock’n roll act in the late 70s and early 80s. This would be their only studio release as a result of tension in the vastly differing personalities of Lowe, nicknamed “Basher” for his passionate, humor and fast paced energy, and Edmunds, who was more serious and dedicated to detail. As a result Seconds of Pleasure is both focused and loose. Polished yet slightly wrinkled. It is a masterful flash-in-the-pan, which highlights the duo’s relationship and the band’s brief but electrifying run.

Enjoy some final harmonic seconds of pleasure here in twenty fifteen, and Happy New Year from Soundtrax!

Seconds of Pleasure
Teacher Teacher
If Sugar was Sweet as You
Now and Always
A Knife and a Fork
Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)
Wrong Again (Let’s Face It)
Pet You and Hold You
Oh What a Thrill
When I Write the Book
Fool Too Long
You Ain’t Nothing but Fine

live EP Nick Lowe & Dave Edmunds Sing the Everly Brothers
Take a Message to Mary
Crying in the Rain
Poor Jenny
When Will I be Loved?

Back To Schooldays
They Call It Rock
Crawling from the Wreckage

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *