The Black Keys – Turn Blue

Turn Blue

The men from Akron, Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney in my humble opinion have created a great late night headphone alternative blues album. The entire album theme is about a break up of a relationship, and lost love. The bended guitar notes in many of the songs show just how blue Dan Auerbach was composing the music. Just listen.

The critic’s have kindof panned “Turn Blue”. I guess they are getting tired of Brian Burton, aka Danger Mouse producing great music with The Black Keys. I think they missed the whole point. The album “Turn Blue” is the definition of alternative blues music, visceral, cathartic, and starkly emotional. The lyrics back it all up. Plug in your favorite headphone hit play it might take a few spins. Tell me if you think I’m wrong.

 The Black Keys – Turn Blue

  1. Weight of Love
  2. In Time
  3. Turn Blue
  4. Fever
  5. Year in Review
  6. Bullet in the Brain
  7. It’s Up to You Now
  8. Waiting on Words
  9. 10 Lovers
  10. In Our Prime
  11. Gotta Get Away


Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

One thought on “The Black Keys – Turn Blue

  1. When the Black Keys first hit the scene 12 years ago, they gave traditional blues a much needed shot in the arm with albums like Thickfreakness and Rubber Factory. This is just them pushing the envelope with more great music that doesn’t necessarily sound like your grandad’s same old blues. Nice post…great stuff!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *